Skip navigation

>Dumbledore has always been my favorite hero. I must say I grew up with Dumbledore, and he taught me so many things about being unprejudiced, non-discriminating and humble. He also taught me that “it’s our choices that show who we truly are, far more than our abilities.” I guess everybody knows about his words at the first-year banquet: “Nitwit! Blubber! Oddment! Tweak!” =) And I think they not just randomly chosen, funny words of a crackpot, old man; they have a much deeper meaning.
Nitwit: Finding it difficult to grasp something. Ravenclaw’s biggest fear.
Blubber: Being not courageous/brave enough for something, bursting into tears. Gryffindor’s biggest fear.
Oddment: Not fitting in, being not good enough for anything, being unworthy. Hufflepuff’s biggest fear.
Tweak: Being changed, tweaked, persuaded into something they don’t want to. (like being around people from Muggle families, etc.) Slytherin’s biggest fear.
Here is how I interpret these words, and I’m sure someone could come up with a different explanation. But it’s great that Albus Dumbledore shouts these words at the students, as if he can see through their deepest fears, and to make clear that each House has its own flaws and they’re by no means better than the other. He’s persuading them to let go off their fears and embrace each other, even if they’re parted into four different Houses.
Enough talking =) I did this manicure the night I watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I. It was a very quick manicure, I didn’t have time to do some detailed nail art, so I just portrayed the four Hogwarts Houses, and Harry’s scar on my thumb.



Thumb: Freehanded with gold over black.
Index: Slytherin. Illamasqua Rampage, stamped with Golden Rose Nail Art #107 and konad m70.
Middle: Gryffindor. OPI Chick Flick Cherry, stamped with Golden Rose Nail Art #108 and bm16.
Ring: Ravenclaw. Essie Mesmerize, stamped with bronze Revell Modellbaulack and konad s06. (I don’t recommend you ever using model paint, it’s unhealthy and creates a mess! It was my first and last time to do that.)
Pinky: Hufflepuff. China Glaze Happy Go Lucky, stamped with konad black and bm20.
I know my pictures are never consistent. I use two different cameras, many backdrops and always the same lighting, but they come out different each time. This one is the DSLR, I love the quality of this, but it’s not very color accurate and it can’t do crazy macro shots.
I really want to work hard on a nice and detailed HP manicure =)

Bu manikürü Harry Potter ve Ölüm Yadigarları 1. Kısmı izlediğim gece yapmıştım. Fazla vaktim yoktu, bu yüzden dört Hogwarts binasının renklerini yaptım, baş parmağımda ise Harry’nin yara izi var.
Baş parmak: Siyah üzerine altın rengiyle şimşek deseni çizdim.
İşaret: Slytherin. Illamasqua Rampage üzerine Golden Rose Nail Art #107 ve konad m70 ile desen yaptım.
Orta: Gryffindor. OPI Chick Flick Cherry üzerine Golden Rose Nail Art #108 ve bm16 ile desen yaptım.
Yüzük: Ravenclaw. Essie Mesmerize üzerine bronz Revell boyası ve konad s06 ile desen yaptım. (Siz siz olun, oje hariç bir boyayı tırnaklarınızda kullanmayın. Her taraf mahvoluyor, bir kez denedim bir daha da yapmayacağım.)
Serçe: Hufflepuff. China Glaze Happy Go Lucky üzerine konad siyah oje ve bm20 ile desen yaptım.
Biliyorum ki çektiğim bir fotoğraf diğerini tutmuyor. Normalde iki kamera, farklı arka planlar ve her zaman aynı ışığı kullanıyorum, fakat resimler birbirinden çok farklı çıkabiliyor. Bu resimler DSLR ile çekildi, kalitesi tabi ki dijital makinadan çok daha iyi, fakat renkleri Sanyo kadar iyi yakalayamıyor ve makro çekimi de iyi sayılmaz.
Vaktim olduğunda ciddi şekilde uğraşıp fanatizmime yakışacak bir HP manikürü yapacağım =)

29 Comments

  1. >I love your mani!I'm so going to do a HP inspired mani cause I'm going to see it on Friday:D

  2. >I love it! And thanks for the interpretation of Dumbledore's words. I think you are spot on! I hope you enjoyed the movie. I loved it…now to re-read the last book again.

  3. >Thank you so much, @my leetle nails, I'm glad you liked it =)@Varnish Vixen, it's the first HP movie that was really loyal to the book, I really enjoyed it! =) I've read the series about 10 times, and now I'm re-reading the second book =)

  4. >Wow, I never thought about it that way, but you are so right, those word do have a deeper meaning! Love the manicure, by the way!

  5. >Thank you so much, @Silva! =)

  6. >such a cute HP mani. for some reason i was drawn to Hufflepuff. i'm also having a problem with lighting now that the winter months are here. i remember you did a post about a light box. i may have to create one now.

  7. >@Enamel Girl thank you =) You can see my lightbox under the label: DIY. There is no tutorial, but just seeing the picture is easy enough to understand how it was built =)

  8. >ooh, that is just SO cute! i went to watch HP yesterday & only got into the first 20min & then we had to leave T__T must go back to watch it soon!

  9. >Harikasınnnn,bi sonraki Hp manikürünü dört gözle bekliyorummmm :))

  10. >maviye bayıldım

  11. >Amazing mani 😀 And ah, Dumbledore D: One of the most amazing fiction characters ever. I have a tattoo planned of one of his quotes 😀

  12. >Great HP manicure! I did some Hp Manicures last week too: http://justmylack.blogg.se/I absolutely love Harry Potter, and Dumbledore has such amazing quotes."Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real? is one of my absolute favoutites + the one in your post. I have lost count of how many times I have re-read the books, both in English and Swedish.Do you read the books in English or Turkish?

  13. >These came out really well, like always 🙂

  14. >Love it! Im a Gryffindor girl all the way! x

  15. >Wow, that's a great interpretation of those words!! It makes sense.And great ideas for the nails, it looks great!

  16. >Very clean! Love it!

  17. >@Katrina I hope you get to watch it soon, it was the best of the bunch =)Tesekkur ederim @j.d., @Happy Mixy =)))@Shanna, exactly =) If I would get a tattoo one day, it would probably be one of his quotes, too =)@Teresia juts saw your blog, great HP manicures =) and I love that quote, too! There are so many quotes of him that I love, including "Alas! Earwax!" =DDDI've read the series both in English and Turkish, I always got them in English on the release date, and I also purchased the Turkish translation in the following months=)Thank you so much @Rachel Marie, @Mish and @omgnoodles!@Sarahlouise1986 yay for Gryffindor! I'm a Gryffindor, too =)

  18. >Your manicure looks awesome! Definitely better than mine lol i posted it in my blog… i guess i still have a lot to learn.

  19. >I'm a HUGE Harry Potter fan so I adore this mani! You've done a really good job on the house designs, the patterns are very fitting. And your interpretation of Dumbledore's words is brilliant! I'd never really considered their relevance before, but JK Rowling is too clever to have used something completely random so I think you're on the right track.

  20. >@Yona, I think you did an awesome job =) I saw it on your blog a few days ago, but couldn't comment on it =/ Is something wrong with your comment block?@Danielle thank you so much =) I'm still not very sure about my own explanation; I'm sure that those four words represent the four Houses, but my interpretation on which word belongs to which House could be wrong =)

  21. >This manicure is so cool! What a great idea to reprsent each house on different fingers.

  22. >Your manis are always so awesome!

  23. >thank you so much, @Serena and @kittypolishnbags! =)))

  24. >Those are so awesomeeeeeeeeeee 🙂 I just saw harry potter last night, so amazing, can't wait till the next and last one!! ahhh, i don't want it to end lol

  25. >oh, the new domain is working! So awesome!

  26. >Made a mistake previously!I love it! So nice (as usual) [and not "us" usual]

  27. >thank you so much guys! yaay, the domain is finally working! =)

  28. >Öncelikle manikürün harika ötesi her zamanki gibi. Zaten düz renk oje sürüp yorumlasan bile harika oluyor. Fotograflarında hangi makineleri kullanıyorsun? Makro çekimleri için ben de bir sanyo E6 diye bir makine var. Eski bir makine ancak makroda çok başarılı acaba aynı mı diye düşünüp merak ettim. Renkleri iyi yansıttığını söylemişsin.. bilgilendirirsen sevinirim…

  29. >@Vespa GirL Make Up selam =) ben makinemi yeni aldim, aslinda full hd kamera oldugu icin almistim ama fotograf ozelligi de cok iyi. tek hosuma gitmeyen yani, ten rengini biraz fazla pembe ve dogalliktan uzak gostermesi. makinem sanyo xacti, kod numarasi vpc-cg20. onun disinda babamin makinesini kullaniyorum, pentax k100d. bu resimde onu kullandim. =)


Leave a Reply

